Official | Bundesliga Team of the Season: Six Bayer Leverkusen players named

The Bundesliga have today named their Team of the Season. Florian Wirtz is one of six Bayer Leverkusen players named in the XI, alongside Jonathan Tah, Jeremie Frimpong, Alejandro Grimaldo, Granit Xhaka and Victor Boniface. It’s a testament to Bayer’s Meisterschale winning team, who remain unbeaten in 31 league games this season, ending Bayern Munich’s 11-year dominance of the Bundesliga title.

Borussia Dortmund’s Gregor Kobel was named the best shot stopper, while Stuttgart’s Waldemar Anton joined three Bayer Leverkusen defenders in a back four. Wirtz, who has scored 11 and created 11 in 31 Bundesliga games this season, is joined by fellow generational talent Jamal Musiala, and Xhaka, who makes a claim for signing of the season following his arrival from Arsenal in the summer.

In attack, Boniface is accompanied by Serhou Guirassy and Harry Kane. The trio have 71 Bundesliga goals between them this season.

Bundesliga Team of the Season

Gregor Kobel (Borussia Dortmund) – Jeremie Frimpong (Bayer Leverkusen), Jonathan Tah (Bayer Leverkusen), Waldemar Anton (Stuttgart), Alejandro Grimaldo (Bayer Leverkusen) – Granit Xhaka (Bayer Leverkusen), Florian Wirtz (Bayer Leverkusen), Jamal Musiala (Bayer Leverkusen) – Victor Boniface (Bayer Leverkusen), Harry Kane (Bayern Munich), Serhou Guirassy (Stuttgart).

GGFN | Daniel Pinder

Get Football+

More European Football News