Bayer Leverkusen win their first-ever Bundesliga

Bayer Leverkusen have won their first-ever Bundesliga title. 

Xabi Alonso’s side have become the first Leverkusen side to lift the Meisterschale after years of shortcomings by the club. 

They’ve done in style by winning nine consecutive Bundesliga games in a row, a new club record, and not to mention they haven’t lost all season in all competitions.

When Alonso took over B04 last year, the club were in 17th place and all at sea. The same season, the former Bundesliga champion took them to 6th and Europe. 

It’s safe to say they haven’t looked back since. 

B04 remain unbeaten in the league, have a DFB Pokal final to look forward to, and are favourties to reach the semi-finals of the Europa League. 

The last competitive game that Leverkusen lost was a dead rubber at the end of last season against Bochum on May 27th 2023. 

It’s an extraordinary achievement by B04, who recruited well in the summer and have played some of the best football in Europe this season. 

GGFN | Jamie Allen

Get Football+

More European Football News