The stats behind the DFB Pokal Quarterfinalists

The round of 16 of the DFB Pokal has passed by and provided many eventful moments with late winners and upsets cementing why there is no competition like the DFB Pokal. 

The biggest talking point from this round has been the fact that Saarbrücken once again beat Bundesliga opposition to progress to the quarter-finals. After previously beating Bayern Munich, Eintracht Frankfurt were the next team to come up short in the Saarland after a 2-0 loss. 

Borussia Dortmund were convincingly beaten by VfB Stuttgart once again meaning only three Bundesliga teams are in the quarter-finals after Borussia Mönchengladbach and Bayer Leverkusen beat Wolfsburg and Paderborn. This is the first time in 20 years that only three Bundesliga teams have reached the quarter-finals. 

The other teams in the quarter-finals are Kaiserslautern, Fortuna Düsseldorf, St Pauli and Hertha Berlin who needed two late goals to take Hamburg to penalties before beating their fellow 2.Bundesliga club. 

With the teams in the quarter-finals, the latest someone has won the trophy was in 1997 when Stuttgart beat Energie Cottbus in the final. Including Stuttgart, there are five previous winners: Kaiserslautern (1996), Gladbach (1995), Leverkusen (1993) and Düsseldorf (1980) while Hertha, St Pauli and Saarbrücken have never won the competition. 

The draw for the quarter-finals will be made next Sunday. 

GGFN | Jack Meenan 



Get Football+

More European Football News