Karim Adeyemi, Jule Brand and Youssoufa Moukoko win Golden Fritz Walter medal

On Wednesday, the DFB announced their Fritz Walter medal winners. The notable winners are Karim Adeyemi and Jule Brand in the 2002 category, Florian Wirtz in 2003 and Youssoufa Moukoko in 2004.

Sports Director of the national teams in Germany, Joti Chatzialexiou said: “Our medal winners are already directly involved in the achievement of this goal or have the potential to become influential figures of German football in the future. I am really pleased for all the award winners this year we can once again honour the most talented players from 2002 to 2005 for their special achievements”

He added: “The medal should also serve as a motivation to do the same as its predecessors around Lena Oberdorf or Kai Havertz and to grow into important national players. We will accompany them in the best possible way.”

The award covers under 17 to under 19 and awards gold, silver and bronze medals to the winners and is named after German football legend Fritz Walter, who captained Germany in the 1954 World Cup which they subsequently won.

Former winners of the award include Lena Oberdorf, Kai Havertz, Antonio Rüdiger, Leon Goretzka and Mario Götze.

GGFN | Jack Meenan

Get Football+

More European Football News